Sew-along: Shorts for the CC (sew-along) MRdM

I got again involved in a sew-along organized by MiRincónDeMariposas. I have sewn the first piece of garment for myself: a pair of shorts for this summer. The pattern is really flattering and the elastic waist makes of it a very comfy wardrobe piece. If it would not have been for the sew-along I would have never made the reinforcement top-stitching, and it is great: it gives a professional-looking finish.

2013.07_ShortsForMe

Thanks to MRdM for this sew-along and for the final push to make something for myself:-)

The fabric is a dark blue linen. I did not include any pockets as I wanted to finish as quick as possible. I have several running sewing projects, that I would like to finish before the holidays. I might include later on a small snap pocket though. The hem was done using some contrasting fabric to make a hem facing as explained here. It adds a nice touch of color.

Here a detail of the hem:
2013.07_BajoShorts
and of the top-stitching for the reinforcement of the seams:
2013.07_CosturaRefuerzo_ShortsCC

8 thoughts on “Sew-along: Shorts for the CC (sew-along) MRdM

  1. Pingback: Pants for Pablo | tante Tante Mele - our blog!

  2. Pingback: New summer dress and other summer projects | tante Tante Mele - our blog!

Leave a Reply

