Practical life: sweeping and a new apron

In the Montessori spirit the kids have their own broom and dustpan sets and from time to time they love to help cleaning up in the kitchen. When we seem to sweep in all different directions, undoing the work of the other, we use a trick: we agree on an area where to collect the dirt. Here we marked it with washi tape. It is really a good practical life activity.

2013.05.12_ZoomZoom06

The apron she is wearing is a new one I have sewn for her following the pattern of SewLiberated. I added a pocket and the piping, which I used for the first time. I really like how it came together. The best of all is that Sara can put it own on her own. No ties what so ever. She really likes that. The pattern is very nice, the only problem I had was the length of the elastic neck strap. I did not try it on her before assembling everything together and I had to undo it as it proved to be much too small. We have big heads over here:-) I will remember now to check such things before sewing together and even topstitching!
2013.05.12_ZoomZoom11

Leave a Reply

